BorgWarner Presents Trophy To 2015 Indianapolis 500 Winner Juan Pablo Montoya

BorgWarner President and Chief Executive Officer James R. Verrier presented the Borg-Warner Trophy™ to 2015 Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya in Victory Lane at the 99th running of the famous race. This is Montoya’s second victory, earning him two images on the iconic trophy. His first win was 15 years ago, the longest time between victories for any Indianapolis 500 winner.

“At BorgWarner, we are all proud to be part of the long tradition of achievement, performance and technology leadership at the Indianapolis 500, symbolized by the Borg-Warner Trophy and exemplified by the EFR turbochargers that boost every competitor,” said Verrier. “Our EFR turbochargers have earned a reputation for performance and dependability, the same attributes personified by the people of BorgWarner.”

Offering an unprecedented combination of advanced technologies, BorgWarner’s EFR turbochargers built for the Verizon IndyCar Series feature low-weight Gamma-Ti turbine wheels for quick boost response. The cast stainless steel turbine housing increases efficiency, improves durability and resists corrosion. Patent-pending ceramic ball bearings increase thrust capacity and durability while improving transient response.

Now available through BorgWarner distributors, BorgWarner’s EFR-7163 turbocharger offers street and race enthusiasts the same powerful performance as professional teams from the Verizon IndyCar Series. BorgWarner’s EFR-7163 turbocharger delivers compact packaging, quick response, greater flow capacity, lightweight Gamma-Ti turbine wheels, stainless steel turbine housings, ceramic ball bearing technology and an aluminum bearing housing. For an easier retrofit experience, these turbochargers offer integrated features including a compressor recirculation valve, electronic boost control solenoid and flexible compressor cover outlet connections.

About the Borg-Warner Trophy

The Borg-Warner Trophy features the sterling silver image of every Indianapolis 500 winner dating back to Ray Harroun in 1911. Made of 110 pounds of sterling silver and standing 5 feet, 4-3/4 inches tall, the trophy originally cost $10,000 and is currently valued at $3.5 million. The Borg-Warner Trophy stays on permanent display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. To give the winner and team owners a personal keepsake of their victory, BorgWarner established the BorgWarner Championship Driver’s Trophy™ (also known as the “Baby Borg”) in 1988 and the BorgWarner Team Owner’s Trophy™ in 1998. Both are sterling silver replicas of the Borg-Warner Trophy.

For more information about the trophies, visit and choose “The Indianapolis 500” from the “Company” pull-down menu at the top of the home page.

About BorgWarner

BorgWarner Inc. (NYSE: BWA) is a product leader in highly engineered components and systems for powertrains around the world. Operating manufacturing and technical facilities in 58 locations in 19 countries, the company delivers innovative powertrain solutions to improve fuel economy, reduce emissions and enhance performance. For more information, please visit

The Borg-Warner Trophy, BorgWarner Championship Driver’s Trophy, and BorgWarner Championship Team Owner’s Trophy are trademarks of BorgWarner Inc.

To read today’s automotive/motorsports op-ed, news and information please visit PRRACEwire, or follow us on Twitter at PRRW – Twitter, or PRRACEwire.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s